Is Each One to Be Judged in the End? . . .The Final Judgment Will Not Come until It Is No Longer Associated with Fear.

1 – Indeed, Yes!

“Is each one to be judged in the end?

“Indeed, yes! No one can escape God’s Final Judgment. Who could flee forever from the truth? But the Final Judgment will not come until it is no longer associated with fear. One day each one will welcome it, and on that very day it will be given him (M38)”

2 – Last Judgment

The Last Judgment is fraught with fear because of the associations made in traditional religion. The way of A Course in Miracles is not fearful. (ACIM is never meant to be fearful.) We are reassured in this passage that we will not face the Final Judgment until we no longer associate it with fear.

3 – Personal Experience

I had an experience of a Last Judgment in a kind of waking dream that was akin to hypnosis. This happened many years ago and has not been repeated. I was talking on the phone to someone I cared about, and he acted as one of the brother to whom Jesus has entrusted the Final Judgment.

4 – Personal II

I was asked a series of questions about my life. The questions made me cry, for I felt that I had often fallen down in my quest for salvation. Then I was given directives for the future, something that I said, at the time, out loud, was “a tall order.”

5 – Personal III

In the years since, I believe that I have done most of those things which I was bade to do. Of course, memory is faulty, especially hypnotic memory, and so I can’t be sure. But the memory of the “judgment” that I experienced is sweet to me. And sometimes that is all that matters.

6 – Time

“Time pauses as eternity comes near, and silence lies across the world that everyone may hear this Judgment of the Son of God:
“Holy are you, eternal, free and whole, at peace forever in the Heart of God. Where is the world, and where is sorrow now? (M38)”

7 – No Sorrow

This is how I feel as I contemplate my own experience of a Final Judgment. There seems to be no sorrow in it. Even if I have not done or said all that was asked of me, I know, from A Course in Miracles, that Jesus stands at the end to correct any mistakes that I cannot. He is always there. He can be depended upon.

8 – Be Quiet

“Learn to be quiet, for His Voice is heard in stillness. And His Judgment comes to all who stand aside in quiet listening, and wait for Him. (M38)”

9 – Holy Spirit

“His Voice” refers to the Holy Spirit. We often don’t choose to be quiet. We are addicted to the adrenaline rush, and our work lives (and our home life) often demands that we move quickly, even when worn down and tired. A few quiet moments a day are all that God asks. He would not burden us by making demands upon that are unrealistic. He is our true reality, and he knows what we are going through. We do not therefore have to be apologetic if only a few minutes of quiet are given to Him each day.

10 – Quiet Listening

We correctly ascertain guidance when we are in quiet listening. This is not always a “for sure” thing, but it is for sure more often than not. Who could hear guidance is a loud and boisterous world? Who would know which voice we were really hearing?

11 – Stillness

The Holy Spirit gives guidance in stillness. This is why it is so important to carve out a few moments each day for listening to His Voice.

12 – Sad / Angry

“You who are sometimes sad and sometimes angry; who sometimes feel your just due is not given you, and your best efforts meet with lack of appreciation and even contempt; give up these foolish thoughts! They are too small and meaningless to occupy your holy mind an instant longer. (M38)”

13 – Thoughts

We must get such thoughts as these out of our holy minds. We are feeling like victims when we think in such a way. And we are not victims of this world, for we choose, on some level, what happens to us. This does not mean that we blame ourselves, for the inner Self makes these decisions without our fully understanding. But on some level we are conscious of the decisions that we make for our days, our lives.

14 – Misunderstood

Yet to feel misunderstood is a misuse of good, creative thinking. These are “small” and “meaningless” thoughts. Know that if nobody else understands, God does. And the Holy Spirit will guide. Just listen in quietness and you will know what to do.

15 – His Judgment

“His promises have guaranteed His Judgment, and His alone, will be accepted in the end. It is your function to make that end be soon. It is your function to hold it to your heart, and offer it to all the world to keep it safe. (M39)”

16 – Salvation

Our function is to bring salvation to this world. Yet we proceed cautiously, not going where angels fear to tread. We need to save time in this weary world. And what we say and do does make a difference.

17 – A Safe World

We need to keep the world safe, and we can do this by holding these promises in our hearts. Do we understand this? No, but if Jesus has said it, I believe that it is true. And we will know what to do when we listen inwardly.

18 – Holy Spirit

The Judgment of the Holy Spirit is what is discussed in the above passage. His Judgment is true, for He sees past, present, and future as one panorama. We see only in part, always, and we see falsely all too often. We cannot judge rightly, and so why do we persist in trying to judge? To do so is truly fool hearty, and we would desist from such thoughts and the behavior that it spawns.

Prayer:

Dear Father/Mother,

I have been restless today, as I am so many days–especially in the morning, when I need the most to dedicate the day to You. May I take the time right now to be quiet and to invite the guidance of the Holy Spirit as I walk through this wintertime.

Thank you for being there for me. I know that no matter how exasperated I may get later on today, if I turn silently within to You, You will right things.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

