What the Final Judgment Is According to ACOL

“Once all has been judged with the vision of love, judgment is over naturally for it has served its purpose. This is the final judgment. (The Treatises of A Course of Love: ‘A Treatise on the New,’ 3.8)

1 – Definition

Finally we have a definition of the final judgment! A Course in Miracles also tells us that it is nothing to fear, that it will be carried out (and welcomed by us) by Jesus, with the help of our brothers (and sisters).

2 – Love

When we see all in love, we recognize that indeed there is no need for judgment. There is also, as stated elsewhere in ACIM, no real need for forgiveness, either–for we have moved beyond it. But in this world, we still do need experience and to express forgiveness, for it is the way that the ego cannot touch. The way out of the bind in which we find ourselves.

3 – Fear and the Ego

So much of fear and the ego has been made of the concept of the final judgment. Many cringe in fear at this wholly benign concept. God’s Son (and Daughter) is innocent. There is no reason for denunciation. All are chosen (a tenet of both ACIM and ACOL).

4 – Our Brothers

The fact that the final judgment, as described in A Course in Miracles, will be carried out by Jesus in cooperation with our brothers is particularly relevant to me. I was once placed under hypnosis and given a series of commands about my future, after having been asked a number of questions about my present. I was reading ACIM at the time, but I don’t recall if I had read this particular passage saying that the final judgment would be given by our brother also. But my “brother” did seem to give it to me. I recall snatches of the hypnosis, recalled these six months after the event, when the post-hypnotic command had expired. I know that I did some of those things which I was commanded to do, sometime in my lifetime, but I don’t know if I did them all. I do know that I said, under hypnosis, “That is a tall order!”

5 – Miracles

Such experiences are a form of the miracle, for they do not occur in everyday life very often (and never again, for me). But the fact that this happening occurred leads me to understand more fully what Jesus was saying in ACIM. Jesus’s final judgment does intend seem to come with the cooperation of our brother.

6 – Faith

We need to take some things on faith, though ACIM and ACOL are not punitive about faith. We don’t have to believe what seem to be impossible things; we don’t have to appeal, at least very often, to “mysteries” that we can’t understand. We are being shown, very precisely, what salvation entails. And we are given the steps of Awakening, though God’s decision in the timing is all-important. When we fulfill the criteria, though Awakening will be waiting for us. Don’t try to dictate when, for we will be misinformed and misled, not to mention disappointed. The truth that we seek is here, in ACIM and ACOL, for the taking. And well we would live if we heed what these remarkable books say.

Prayer:

Dear Father/Mother,

I used to fear the Final Judgment. But Jesus’s words make it such a benign concept, so loving and right. Thank You for this new understanding.

May today I eliminate my own judgments from my life. It is not up to me to judge my brothers and sisters. May I remember this all day today.

Help this day to go well. I realize that I am so very blessed that once I was accused of leading a “charmed life.” This charmed life is here for us all, when we fulfill the criteria. And only You know everything that is asked of us. I would not fall on my face today; I would continue to try to do what I can to follow You exactly. Our spiritual evolution is not a straight line, but I wish for You to lead the way in as straight a fashion as I will allow.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “What the Final Judgment Is According to ACOL

  1. Not sure which Jesus you mean here. The Jesus of the New Testament taught very clearly that the Final Judgment would separate the wicked from the righteous. Matthew 13:47-52 is just one example.

Leave a Reply

