A Course of Love · ACOL

The Best Experiences Avoid the Ego

“You do not exist outside of relationship, just as your mind does not exist outside of oneness. Your experience here is but an extension of mind into a realm in which experience can occur. Your ego has made of this some¬thing different than it is. Rather than extension of mind, your experience has become a projection of ego. This can change.” (ACOL, C:31.35)

We are in relationship to all that exists, and this makes for the oneness that Jesus is extolling in this passage for today. Because we are not isolated, we need each other. Our experience in this world, with others, is an extension of mind that allows us to have experience in a physical world. We are not making a world out of ego projection any longer, and this explains why A Course of Love looks on the outer world differently from the way that A Course in Miracles explains. ACIM said that projection makes perception, and this was projection of the ego, for we were still trapped in the ego at that time, at that part of reading in ACIM. But extension of mind, what we are doing now, is a step forward, a better way, in which we join with others in relationship, and we have experiences that are much better. We are no longer isolated.

In the separation, we wanted to be isolated and alone, independent, with allies only but no companions. But we were not set up this way. We were not created this way. The center will not hold. And the ego, in its madness, probably does know this. It probably knows that it is living on borrowed time. And becomes vicious because it is threatened. This leads to nightmares in a living hell that this world can so easily become.

All of this can change, and will change, when we allow salvation to do its holy work. Salvation means many different things to different people, but in ACIM and ACOL, salvation, ultimately, means Awakening or Christ-consciousness. If we allow the glimpses of Awakening to lengthen, by a mental choice to live peaceably, we will know a tranquility that will automatically allow the glimpses to lengthen. We know many things about enlightenment, and these many things can help us now. Leave off anger and attack, judgment and needless planning, and let guidance of the inner Christ Self tell us what to do and say. This is the only way to live well.

And it will be no secret that we are healed.

Dear Father/Mother,

I would see the glimpses of enlightenment that come to me lengthen and spread out upon my world. I would reach out to others in holy relationship, and in this act, I would find You. You are my fortress from a bad world, when it is bad. You are my most important relationship, the model for all other relationships. Help me to enlarge on glimpses of enlightenment through a wholehearted welcome to You and Your children, the others with whom I am in relationship.

Be with me today to watch my steps along the road that I travel.

Thank You.

4 thoughts on “The Best Experiences Avoid the Ego

  1. I gave talks at a funeral last Wednesday, a Good Friday service, and next Sunday for my lovely friend and colleague we celebrated a long way from here where he ministered for a while. They were, and will be ever so much like the above. it will appear on my website which I’m re-building, in the next week or two. Happy resurrection day, and God bless. All WILL be one.

  2. This is absolutely beautiful and refreshing. It’s always been a perplexing thing for me to hear from someone – as I did often growing up in my own Christian foundations – that “God is everything and everything is a part of God”, but then also hear a dismissal of any kind of exploration beyond those words into what that actually means as some kind of mystical or irrelevant nonsense. We feel God in ourselves, but then push Him away from us in our supplicating prayers and angry begging. Is God a part of me or is he just a king who rules me? I never understood the belief that something that was a part of my own essential essence was, at the same time, completely distant from me. As a kid I asked “isn’t the God of my own soul what Jesus discovered? And why aren’t we all trying to truly emulate this endeavor if we are desiring to be truly Christ-like?” and I never got an answer. This was a wonderful read, and I very much enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

