Recognizing a Calling

“Why would we begin “A Treatise on Unity” by talking of treasure? To pave the way for talking of calling. What is it in you that recognizes talents that lie fully realized within? The practical mind is not the source of such imagination. The practical mind makes of imagination a fantasy. It is the heart that sees with true imagination and the heart that speaks to you in terms that are consistent with the idea you currently hold of hearing a call or having a calling.” (ACOL, T2:2.1)

Most of us thinking of this passage will have had times in our lives when we felt a calling. The calling may have played itself out with or without our cooperation. And then another calling very likely took its place. Often a calling can seem like Jonah and the whale, and we go along reluctantly. But often we do go along, for our anxieties peak and we feel vulnerable emotionally if we don’t answer the call that has become imbedded in our heart.

This scenario becomes all the more real when we realize that here in A Course of Love we are encouraged to listen to our heart, to let our heart inform our mind, and with heart and mind in union, we are ready to allow the inner Christ Self to take over our personalities. This is where we are heading, and when we have reached this place of serene contentment, we will have Awakened. And a calling can play a big part in the decisions that we make that will hurry the process of Awakening along.

Think over our lives, when we felt callings that we answered, and, maybe, just maybe, when we turned aside from callings to our own will, the will of the separated self who knew no better than to turn away. It is for us to hope that the callings that come to us are greatly supported by our environment, that we don’t engage in endless battles with our egoic self about whether or not to answer. The best answer is always to go forward with great hope and no little encouragement from the God Who watches over us all. And this God is not an external Force, but the real part of ourselves that has been covered over for eons. Now this God will take us by the hand and lead us through the labyrinth of best action to a culmination that shows us—and others—that we have answered the call. And we will have an innocent satisfaction is having answered each and every call. Our heart will have guided us, even when our personal will was weak.

Callings are treasures indeed, as this Treatise tells us. We are blessed to have a mission in life, maybe several missions over the years of our lives. There is perhaps no greater joy in life than to walk a pathway that has been laid out before us through the promptings of a call. And we will know when we have fulfilled that inner mission. And we will thank our God for taking us this far, for keeping us true to the promises that He led us to make in the fulfillment of a call.

If we turn aside from a call, we will regret it deeply. It is for this reason that great discernment is needed. Is the call a fantasy only? Could God possibly be asking this of us? Are we simply deluding ourselves? Asked over time, the Answer to such questions will become evident. We are not given callings that are not within our power to effect. God’s plans for us are uniquely suited for our deeper psyche. For the Self Who is One with the All. And when we have answered “yes,” if will do what He asks, we will feel a gentle reassurance, a reassurance that dismisses the anxiety of refusal immediately. Then we will have our reassurance that the mission we are on is God-directed.

Prayer

I ask You for Your direction today. I ask for particular guidance this day to know the right turn to make. I don’t want to imagine what I want, and then decide that it is a God-given Answer. I want to be sure that I am discerning the will of the Christ-Self correctly.

I am mystified today in knowing where to go and what to do. Of course, I have my own leanings, but if these are just pipe dreams, please set me straight. Help me to following callings that come from the heart only. When the heart is the center of my Self, I know that following calls from the heart will work out well.

Thank You.

Amen.

5 thoughts on “Recognizing a Calling

  1. Thank you for this post.
    Since I started A Course in Miacles and A Course of Love, I have been been on an incredible journey that, I am being reassured, is my calling.

    Sometimes it is hard to stay on track. The ego gets in the way.
    And U ask myself, “do I really want it?” “Do I really want to do God’s work? And sometimes it’s hard to answer. I remind myself that the ego doesn’t want it, but I do.

    I also have difficulty knowing that I am worthy. Again, the ego isn’t worthy, but I am.

    I am that I Am. We all are.

    And yet I am still having a difficult time right now.

    I need some reassurance.

    Thank you,

    Marvin

    1. Marvin —

      I followed a calling for 14 of my young adult years, a calling for which I had no proof. And it was not always easy, but I knew what I had promised God. In all the years since I followed that calling to its conclusion, I have not regretted doing so.

      Do stay the course.

      Love, Celia

  2. So timely Celia! I have been questioning myself for some time now on this very subject. So timely. Keep posting, I find great comfort in these messages.

Leave a Reply

