Flow with What Comes, in Grace

“The injunction that you resign as your own teacher originated in A Course in Miracles and was furthered here. Along with this resignation is the concept of receiving rather than planning. Your feeling that a specific role is required of you, or that you have a specific thing to do of which you need to be aware, are functions of the pattern of the planning process that once so ruled your mind. To be willing to receive instead of plan is to break the pattern of planning.” (ACOL, T3:22.5)

All of us still try to plan our days, and these days stretch into weeks and months, with planning for our lives being a prominent feature. But Jesus says that planning is misguided. Indeed, in A Course in Miracles, planning that was not prompted by the Holy Spirit was said to be one way that we would fall off the pathway, one way that we would fail to reach Awakening. (The other two ways were attack and making judgments.) Now Jesus continues the line of thought from ACIM. He extends his words of advice to a directive to “receive” instead of plan. And with this receiving, we are ensuring that we are falling in line with God’s will, a will that is actually our own true will.

Receive today rather than plan. Don’t try to be predictive about the future; Jesus doesn’t. Just take what comes with the grace in which it is given.

Prayer

I want to show grace today in all my dealings. I have such high hopes, and I sometimes don’t measure up. Help me to accept Your grace that all is well. Help me to know that You are smoothing the way, always.

Be with me as this day unfolds. Help me to apologize if I need to, and the to drop it. Mistakes happen, but I make a mistake, again, when I cling to a mistake.

Thank You for guiding me aright. Thank You for A Course of Love.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Flow with What Comes, in Grace

Leave a Reply

