Seek Inner Wisdom

“You may have pictured the person who first received these words as receiving them either through her thoughts or through her ears, as in the idea of “hearing” words. The receiver of these words, in fact, “hears” these words as thoughts. They are not “her” thoughts, but they also are not sepa¬rate from her. How can this be?

“They are, quite simply, not the separated thoughts of the separated thought system.” (ACOL, D:12.2 – 12.3)

Mari heard an internal voice, one that she believed (and has since been borne out) was Jesus. Helen received dictation for A Course in Miracles in exactly the same way. It might be more accurate to say the “impression” of a voice, for there was nothing audible. And Mari, as Jesus said, was hearing these words as thoughts that she knew did not originate from her personal mind. We can extrapolate from what Jesus says next in this quotation that Mari was in unity when she was listening to these “thoughts.” She had a united mind and heart, and her Self was available to her: “not the separated thoughts of the separated thought system.”

We can do the same, though the voice that we will hear will not necessarily be Jesus. Though he has promised to be with us when we call, not all of us call all the time, and, of course, how he can be with everybody who calls is a mystery that is beyond the scope of what we can know on this earth. Let the imagination have free rein. Write a question in a journal, and then “listen” for an answer. Just be free with this. Write what seems to come, using the vast powers of our imagination. A awakened individual I know would say that this is Inner Wisdom, and, of course, another way to say that is that it is the Self coming out to play, the Self newly emerging from the depths now that we have let go of our ego and are eager to see true reality. Julia Cameron, of fame as a writing teacher as well as a working artist (The Artist’s Way, etc.), suggests just the technique that I am here recommending. She says that we will get an indication of how to dialogue with our inner being.

I am not conscious of channeling from anyone while I write this blog, but I do realize that I “listen” to see what words to put down on paper. I don’t “hear” anything, but I also try not to forge ahead until I have gotten the gist of what is to follow in any given sentence. So, in that sense, I am in dialogue, I think, with my Self. At an earlier time I might have thought that I was in dialogue with the Holy Spirit, but Jesus has emphasized that we live now in the time of Christ, the time of the Holy Spirit having passed. We can have direct knowledge from God now, no longer needing an intermediary because we are no longer fearful of the Deity. I would caution not to feel that we are infallible, for we certainly can make mistakes in our journaling as a dialogue. Our finite minds, even when supported by the heart, will sometimes get it wrong.

Take nothing that I say unto yourself unless it finds a place in your heart. This is the test. Does it sound right to you? If not, ask for your own personal guidance; that is best anyway.

So: We listen to our own inner voice as we seek to discover more. This Self is informed by guidance far beyond us. And the result will be better lives. When we listen to the universe, our guidance shows us the way to greater happiness and an ever-greater contribution to God’s work.

Prayer

Be with me as I seek to write. Be with me as I seek to live peacefully with everyone. I would make progress in my own pathway by inviting mellowness, and this comes only when I first relax. I ask for a glimpse of enlightenment today. I ask for the intelligence, emotional and mental, to get across ideas that You give me, ideas that elucidate Jesus’s words in A Course of Love. Don’t let me mislead anybody.

Thank you for being here for me today. I seek to relax and stay calm, sure that then any neuroses that still trouble me will diminish and gradually disappear, falling away never to return.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Seek Inner Wisdom

  1. The way you write is also the way I do – often when I sit down to write something for my blog I don’t know what it will be. It *emerges* sentence by sentence into a cohesive whole… and amazes me 🙂

Leave a Reply

