A Course of Love · ACOL

Is the Self of Union, God Himself?

“That response is wholehearted desire, which is the power that A Course of Love came to return to you. You were told within this Course that whole¬hearted desire for union would return union to you and return you to your Self. This is the moment of realization of that accomplishment. But your desire has not left you. Your desire is stronger than ever before.

“What is different now is that your wholeheartedness, as well as your desire, has moved beyond the pattern of thought.” (ACOL, D:17.12 – 17.13)

The Self of union is, I think, really God Himself. Jesus has focused on the Self in the Dialogues of A Course of Love because he wants to impress on us that we are really part of God, that God Himself is living through in every minute of every day.

Many of us, myself included, have called out to Jesus to help us, to come in response to “a single, unequivocal call.” And I think he will come. But Jesus needs to transfer our dependence from him as a person who lived 2,000 years ago to something larger. He doesn’t want us, he says in ACOL, to continue to think of him as an historical figure. He is part of our larger Self, part of God as we are. And he needs to transfer our dependence onto the Self of union, the Self that is One with God.

Norman Vincent Peale did the same with frantic individuals who called him often on the phone. He realized that they were looking to him as a father figure (in many cases), and he needed to transfer their dependence onto God the Father. He eased his listeners into just that assurance of God the Father’s abiding love for them. And miracles occurred.

Wholehearted desire for union will return union to us, provided we have met the stipulations of no judgment and no fear. Then we are in Christ-consciousness, when that union has been returned to us. And we are ready to help create a new world.

Prayer

My desires are many today. I seem to be going in many directions at once. Make me one-pointed, dear God. Help me to slow down and do things in flow, in Your flow. Help me to know Your certainty of what to do next, what to say next. I need Your certainty today and every day.

It is with wholehearted desire, as best I can imagine it, that I long for You. I come with love in my heart. Be with me to give this day all that You would wish it to be for me. Be with me always.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

