A Course of Love · ACOL

Reverence for God

“Desire asks for a response. From where is this response sought? You now must understand the fullness of the well of your heart, the interre¬lationship of desire and fulfillment. The interrelationship of desire and fulfillment is what occurs at the threshold. Beyond the threshold is the state in which desire has passed and been replaced by reverence. To revere is to feel awe, which, it has been stated, is due nothing and no one but God. To move beyond desire to reverence is to move into the state of communion with God, full oneness with God, wholeness.” (ACOL, D:17.19)

This is the final result of communing with God—the final emotion that Jesus relays to us: reverence in God’s Presence. Jesus’s use of the word “reverence” in this context reminds me of Albert Schweitzer’s credo: reverence for life. And is not another word for God really just Life (with a capital “L”). When we get quiet, go within, and reach to the farthest depth that we can muster, we are reaching toward God, Who is found in our depths. In my experience, though, to go this deep, we have to be quiet and peaceful, in harmony and also in joy, and then the secrets of the universe open up to us. There is nothing hid when we are in deep communion, nothing that we can’t mystically comprehend. Few of us ever each this level, though, but the attempt can reap great benefits.

When we feel reverence for God, we are in awe, something that Jesus says is due nothing and nobody except God. When we wish to feel wholeness, we need to try to go deeply into our mind and heart—to the center of our being. What we see there may surprise us, and it may change us. Indeed, we may never be the same again, but in a good way. Communion with God gives the best moment that this life affords us, and so we do well when we try, for trying is all that is asked of us.

We can use our desire for God to go deeply within to find this Spirit. Our desire will give us much in this lifetime, and when that desire is molded to an intense, fever pitch, for the Almighty, we may find God when we least expect it. It only takes a moment to have a mystical experience of God.

I dare us to have such a moment now.

Dear God,

Be with me as I seek for You. I know that You won’t let me down, even if now is not the right time for You to come through in a mystical moment. I will wait for another good moment, sure that eventually You will feel ready to fill me with Your bountiful love. May I revere You, and hold You in awe—unlike any feeling that I hold for anyone else.

I long for Your Love to enfold me now. I long to sense Your Presence. You fill me with warmth often, and for this I am very grateful. I ask for Your warmth now.

Thank You.

Amen.

One thought on “Reverence for God

  1. I have had experienced similar to that which you wrote about in the Embrace.
    I am open to a dialogue on this if you so choose.
    Mark

Leave a Reply

