A Course of Love · ACOL

Jesus Is the One for Us

“You are all beloved sons and daughters of love itself, no matter what you call that love. You all are equally beloved. That you give your devotion to one religious tradition or another matters not. That you accept that I am he who can lead you beyond your life of misery to new life matters absolutely.” (ACOL, D:Day1.15)

Here is a further indication of what “accept me”—said by Jesus—really means. Any religious tradition that speaks to our needs is good, but he is the one to whom we are listening in A Course of Love. He is bringing us home. He is our leader back from the abyss.

Other religious leaders might have done the same for us, but if this is true, it is doubtful that we would be reading A Course of Love. We signed on with Jesus, and to complete the transition to new life, he asks that we accept as the one who will succeed where others have failed. He knows what to say to us who are enthralled by ACOL; he knows how we think. And he can appeal to our experiences in a way that is unique to him. We are followers of Christianity, though not of a traditional understanding of Christianity.

Isn’t the simplest usually the best? And the simplest is to let go of doubts, and just entertain the possibility that what we have been reading in ACOL is true: that Jesus is the one for us. We can make fast progress when we come to this conclusion. We can and we will.

Dear God,

Thank You for leading Jesus’s thoughts to enlist my cooperation in accepting him as the one to whom I turn when in the ditch. I would not stay in the ditch. I want out; I want You. Jesus can appeal to me in a way that other traditions might not. Others may choose someone different, and thereby have a way to reach You. But I follow A Course in Miracles and A Course of Love. My choice for Jesus has been borne out many times.

Be with me on this lovely day. The sun is shining, the birds are singing, the temperature is optimal. May this day draw me into a loving mood, one that opens me to a glimpse of Your ultimate salvation for me.

Amen.

One thought on “Jesus Is the One for Us

Leave a Reply

