Abundance Is Our Birthright

“Yet how can you accept yourself when you have feelings such as these? How can you accept the idea of inheritance with ideas such as these? How do you accept me when you see me as symbolizing a life of “godly” poverty, and of calling my followers to abandon their worldly goods?

“Thus must this source of your anger and discontent, this source of your non-acceptance, be revealed in a new light.” (ACOL, D:Day3.15 – Day3.16)

We are meant to be called to a radical acceptance of our lives, but not to those things that we dislike. Our acceptance paves the way for change, and it is change, often, that we want. Our acceptance of poverty, if that is our situation, can pave the way to the elimination of poverty. We don’t lie down in the dust and give up. We wait for the ideas from God that will make a difference in our lives. But acceptance, a radical acceptance, is important—indeed, is mandatory.

We have often become angry when we see others who have more than we do in material blessings. Those people are a thorn in our side. But it doesn’t have to be that way. They did not accept poverty as a given, and when we don’t accept it as given, we are well on our way to making real change occur in our lives. We don’t have to lead charmed lives to be secure in financial matters. We don’t have to be angry that we don’t have as much as another. We can walk into greater abundance by acceptance of ALL facets of our lives, and then by moving to replace those things that we don’t like. The way seems plain, but, oh, so hard to accept.

God gives ideas. And He gives security. No amount of abundance, or money, would ever be enough to offer a sense of safety, for that safety only comes from a close walk with God. He takes care of us. Our real needs are always met, even if outward appearances deem otherwise. Our wishes are not always met, and this is a good thing, for our wishes are defective. But needs are met.

Allow acceptance to flood over us. Then watch for opening windows. When God closes a door, He opens a window farther down the pathway.

Opening windows are a blessing for which all of us can be assured.

Dear God,

I accept the particular amount of money I have now. And when and if I need more, I accept that point of need, and then wait for an opening window that will tell me how to solve the problem. Need is always met. I am not called to accept undesirable outcomes.

Be with me today as I seek to walk in Your way. Pour into my mind the ideas that I need to have to move into any greater abundance that I need. And allow me to believe that this outcome will happen.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Abundance Is Our Birthright

  1. Wow I am sure battling with my mindset and this topic as of late! Thanks for the post…. I like this part…..”We don’t have to lead charmed lives to be secure in financial matters. We don’t have to be angry that we don’t have as much as another. We can walk into greater abundance by acceptance of ALL facets of our lives, and then by moving to replace those things that we don’t like. The way seems plain, but, oh, so hard to accept.”

Leave a Reply

