Listen to Guidance of the Heart

“The condition of want, like all conditions of learning, ended with the end of learning. The condition of want was a learning device—not one of divine design, but one of the thought system of the ego. It was a trick to keep you constantly striving for more, a trick to guarantee the survival of the ego-self, a trick that provided the small rewards of time-bound evolution, the small rewards that would keep you assured of progress through effort, and just as assured of ruin through lack of effort.” (ACOL, D:Day3.28)

Here the word “want” is a lack that is actually a need, not a desire. And we learn elsewhere that our needs are met at the point that they are recognized, by us, as needs. We ask for help in meeting our need, and it comes—immediately. The solution is always right with the problem.

We may not believe this. But think back. Have we ever really had a need that wasn’t answered in some way? It might not have been answered in the way that we preferred, but an answer did come, and invariably. Now we are living in a new time, and the effort that we put into answering our needs must be dropped. We don’t get our needs met through effortful living any longer, for effortful living was a ploy of the ego so that its survival was certain.

We have, by now, at this point in reading A Course of Love and taking it unto our heart and mind, left the ego behind in the dust. We may, of course, still keep a “pattern” of the ego that seems to make sense for a time. But if we think carefully, we will know that we don’t do things for the egotistical payoff any longer. This dynamic has simply lost its value to us. And we are much better off as a result.

We are asked to make progress today through listening to our heart’s guidance, not through laborious effort that might or might not pay off. We are assured of making progress when we listen to the ideas that drop into our mind from listening to our heart, from listening to our Self. This Self is the Oversoul, of which we all are a part. Guidance is particular to each of us, but we draw on the same Source. We draw on God Himself, Who leads and directs from the center of our being. And His way is always sure.

Dear God,

Help me to remember to be gentle with myself today. If I feel like resting, let me do so without guilt. If I feel sleep, let me take a nap without guilt. I would displace guilt from my mind and heart at every point that it would try to enter. I don’t have to produce always. Living is its own reward.

May I be there for my brothers and sisters in need. Sometimes you use me to answer a need. That is not a burden, but it is a responsibility, and it calls for careful listening to my heart about the right thing to do and say. Help me to follow You in any matters that confront me. Help me to love with a generous heart, especially when my brother or sister is feeling weak and troubled.

Amen.

6 thoughts on “Listen to Guidance of the Heart

  1. Beautiful reminder of love call is always returning us back to what we need to hear at the slightest call for HELP. NEED is indeed a powerful reminder of Gods Grace in exactly what we need to do and we will see this Grace being performed right in front of our eyes and the heart just so cheering us on.
    Hugs peace and love
    Brett

  2. I really like what you have to say, though I can tell by my own ‘snags’ as I read through some of your posts that I still have some resistance. Not with God, I’ve sorted that fully. No, my resistance is against ‘Christians’, in the traditional sense.

    I can tell by your words that you’re tapping into the same ‘source’ of information as I am. Your words are the same, but with a different… audience, perhaps?

    Thank you for sharing, and for showing me some of the resistance I still need to work on dissolving!

    Namaste and many blessings upon you!

    A.

Leave a Reply

