What if We Disagree with Jesus?

“The arguments we will be having will be meant to show you this: That on one side are the temptations of the human experience, which is just another way of saying all that you have learned; on the other side will be the truth, the new temptations that will incite you to leave behind the temptations of the human experience.” (ACOL, D:Day4.2)

Jesus knows that at this point we are not ready to accept his words at face value, and that is why he is saying that we will have “arguments.” We will disagree with his words as we read, for we will still retain in our minds the learning that we have acquired. Much of this learning has been wrong, but we won’t be ready to accept this assessment yet. As we proceed, the “new temptations” that Jesus mentions are not bad things, but good temptations.

We have been human, having human experiences, for such a long time. And we have had feet of clay, which have made us make many mistakes. Now we have a sure guide in A Course in Miracles and A Course of Love. We can drop away our old ideas that have not given us the happiness that God desires for us. We will walk into the light when we keep an open mind to what Jesus is telling us now.

Jesus seems to say that disagreeing with him is not bad. We might be tempted to feel guilty for our difference of opinion, and especially for “arguing” with him in our minds. None of this matters. We will revise our thinking, but this pathway through relinquishing old ideas is necessary. And it is obvious that we would not relinquish the thinking of a lifetime without some resistance. Just don’t let that resistance overtake our good judgment now. We will see that the way that Jesus is having us think now is superior to anything that we have previously known. And arguing with Jesus in our mind is not to be lamented. It is honest. And it will lead to acute understanding of the new way.

Dear God,

I have often been guilty of arguing with Jesus as I read the New Testament. Now he absolves me of guilt at those times, and also as I read A Course of Love. He seems to say that he knows how I feel, that I can’t agree with everything that he says on first reading. And he doesn’t mind my objections to his thought. He knows that I have taken a meandering pathway to salvation.

Be with me as I seek to understand the next sections of ACOL. I know that I will come around to Jesus’s thinking, and sooner rather than later. I appreciate that You appreciate my mind, even when it has been misguided. You have given power to my mind, and with that I can drop objections, and listen to Jesus with a new mind and heart.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “What if We Disagree with Jesus?

Leave a Reply

