Ask for a Changed Mind and Heart

“But these issues, when removed from feelings, still remain issues. They remain social causes, environmental causes, political causes. The cause of all these issues is fear. The cause and effect of love is all that will replace these causes of fear with the means and end that will transform them along with you. You are means and end. It is within your power to be saviors of the world. It is from within that your power will save the world.” (ACOL, D:Day10.37)

This quotation makes clear that Jesus cares about social justice. He believes that we will make progress in our world when we ourselves change, first, and then, out of a changed mind and heart, we create a new world. Without our own change, the issues would remain issues that would remain divisive, because we would be living in fear. In love, the solutions present themselves. What a marvelous promise!

If we want to change the world or create a new world, we first must work on ourselves. And that we are doing when we spend time daily in prayer and reflection, reading and response to our brothers and sisters, in love. Our means of discovering the real truth are many. We have to be careful that we ourselves don’t hold the whole answers, that the whole Answer is found in God and our allegiance to Him, and is found nowhere else.

The problem with attempting to correct world problems now is that we are doing it from an unhealed perspective. Of course, there are exceptions, truly reverent people who understand the issues and have respect for varying opinions about how to right wrongs. But we will never correctly address all our ills without final surrender to God and the Christ-Self within each of us who is trying to make sense of a difficult world.

We can make this final surrender at any time. God always listens. And He listen, we might say, ever more keenly when His children come to Him in unknowing, ready to “hear” for the first time what the Silence might say to us.

Listen today. Today is the first day of the rest of our lives. Time enough to listen to our Maker.

Dear God,

I would try to fix things, but I would fix them wrongly unless You guide my every move. I ask You today to guide my every move. Keep me aware that until You speak to me in the Silence, I have no idea how to begin to alter the trajectory of our world to something better.

Be with me today and every day. This is my perennial prayer, and I know that You do hear me. It is to myself that I reaffirm my will to follow You in every minute detail.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

