Let Our Heart Lead

“As you can see, it is difficult for me, even now, even in this final address to you as the man Jesus, to speak of feelings without addressing the grand scheme of things. I want to comfort and reassure you in this final message. I want to tell you to be embraced by love and to let all the feelings of love flowing through you now find their expression. I desire, more than anything, your happiness, your peace, and your acceptance of the power that will cause these things to come to be. Yet I know you and what you want to hear. I know you have long waited for your feelings to be addressed in a more personal way. But please remember that none of the approaches that have been used to “address” your feelings in the way you might desire have worked. This will work.” (ACOL, D:Day10.38)

This quotation is a big pitch for reading A Course of Love: “This will work.” And what do Jesus mean? We will be heading down the pathway to home when we easily let ourselves address God and the Christ-Self, from within, who is a part of Him. We have often believed that God is “out there,” maybe to see us and give us what we want, maybe not. But A Course in Miracles and A Course of Love both say the same thing: We are to look within for our salvation. God is, of course, both within and what we are projecting without. And He is unlimited, contrary to what we are. We are finite creatures, His children, who need solace far more than we acknowledge. ACOL will work because it addresses our feelings through their home, our heart, and it encourages the heart to teach the mind. The mind has been that recalcitrant entity that we never seemed to be able to lasso. Now we can, but in a gentle way, through the heart—the heart that doesn’t need “proofs” of God, but acknowledges that it knows of Him by the way that we feel. We intuit through the feelings; we intuit God through the feelings.

Our feelings need to receive the benefit of our consideration. Often we think that this is not necessary, that we are being neurotic, that feelings don’t matter, that actions do. This is foolishness! Feelings do matter very much, for healthy feelings lead us to action, action that will change/create a new world. And Jesus will be right here, guiding us as our leader. We will know all that we need to know to take the next right step.

Let our feelings come to the surface. Acknowledge that they actually drive us. And that drive is not pleasant when it is forced. We can live in this world in a better way. And ACOL, with its emphasis on letting the heart lead, does prepare for a future unlike anything we have known in the past.

The future looks good. Let ourselves be reassured about that. Let our heart rule the head (mind). Enjoy the new day toward which we are walking, step by step.

Dear God,

I would let my heart lead today to more compassion for myself as well as others. If I don’t have compassion for myself, how will I ever extend compassion to others? I can’t; that is the problem.

So: First things, first. I will acknowledge You in the depth of my heart, listen to the promptings of my heart, and console both myself and my brothers and sisters.

These feelings will lead to good actions, and these actions will save the world.

Amen.

One thought on “Let Our Heart Lead

  1. Reblogged this on Beaming Light and commented:
    When I was at Day 10 ..reading this in A Course of Love…which was just a few weeks ago..it felt very different than it does today reading it as Celia shares it. I am grateful to see this in particular this day … …for I am fully ready to receive it…Namaste’

Leave a Reply

